I know the market because I’m NOT the market.

 

Obviously.

I want to like Filipino movies, I really do.  But every single time they come out with one, I’d rather skip it.  If it starred Eugene Domingo, however, I may consider.  Just “may” because after Kimmy Dora, I find her succeeding flicks a complete disaster.  She’s still hilarious as hell but the plots try too hard (e.g., Here Comes the Bride, Mamarazzi— not sure about Sceptic Tank though as I’ve yet to see it).

Anyway, I digress.

A few weeks ago, I received a message from a good friend who hardly even uses Facebook.  He sent me a link to a trailer of the latest Star Cinema x Viva Films installment, No Other Woman.  He thought I’d enjoy watching the trailer for the love of all things campy.

And I did— so much that I even planned on catching it on the big screen because I simply must witness Carmi Martin and Christine Reyes’ exchange on the difference between  “putang mayaman” and “putang mahirap“.  I was clapping my hands like a total idiot while viewing the scene on YouTube.

No Other Woman was shown the week I was bound for Europe.  By the time I returned to Manila, everyone I wanted to watch it (and laugh out loud) with already did.  Except for my friend who originally sent me the trailer.

I’m just relieved that we were too late in the game when we scheduled a movie date.  On Monday’s last full show, there were less than ten of us inside the cinema.  Why so “relieved”?  Thank God, Buddha, and Allah we were able to avoid the “collective experience” inherent to Pinoy moviegoers while watching a Pinoy movie.  I don’t think I’ll be able to withstand the cheese on the screen coupled with even cheesier reactions from the audience.

Needless to say, I hated No Other Woman.  I don’t know why it was even Rated A and raked millions in the box office.

To end on a more positive note, I loved ALL of Anne Curtis’ clothes.  Great styling!

P.S. They should have given Carmi Martin a meatier role.  I would love that.  🙂

Leave a Reply

