I love dressing up but not in costume.

A “costume”, in my view, includes party hats, masks, and even leis.

I love dressing up but not in costume.  When I look back on it, I think it’s because my mom dressed me up as “Madonna” in kindergarten.

A few years later and as a newcomer in Zobel, my teacher used me as a prop— a “television”— in one of our school plays.  I had to wear a big ass box with round buttons serving as volume control and a channel changer because in the 80’s (or at least, where I came from), remote controls weren’t in style yet.

I was around 12 years old when one of my neighbors and I went trick-or-treating.  I was Wednesday Adams.

In all instances, I felt plain stupid.  But that’s just me.

Fast forward to 2011 and I went shopping for my niece’s first Halloween costume.  I can’t believe how many options kids have these days.  My favorite was the “Knight”.  Well, not only because I’m currently into George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Fire and Ice saga but simply because the “Knight” costume was put-together down to the tiny sword.  I wish I could show you a photo but I forgot to snap one.  😦

Since I’m dressing up my NIECE, the “Knight” was out of the question.  After wading through racks, I narrowed down my choices down to “Arabian Dancer” and “Aloha Girl”.  Again, no photos, sorry.

I had to get my brother’s approval (he’s the father, after all).  He vetoed both because they were “too expensive”.  He’s right, actually.  Both cost around PHP2,000.00.  Well, only because we went to Rustan’s.  They really should open up a low-cost department store in Alabang Town Center already!

Anyway, my brother told me to check out the boutique called Baby Fashionistas in the same mall.  He says that the clothes they sell there “aren’t for usual day wear” and that they could pass for “costumes”.

Whereas I spent almost an hour at Rustan’s, it only took me mere seconds to pick a “costume” at Baby Fashionistas.  This was on the display window:

Obviously it’s a cross between a ballerina and a bornday dress but I’d like to call it a MARSHMALLOW costume.  Haha!  And given my niece’s chubby build, well, this is a perfect fit.  🙂

My niece was grinning from ear-to-ear when we tried the skirt on her.  I’m bringing her to the Bank tomorrow and will be posting more pictures with her wearing this.  I can’t wait!  🙂

Leave a Reply

