Pic(ks) of the Week: Imitation is the sincerest [form] of flattery.

Favorite New Discovery

La Petite Camille - Deep Fried Ice CreamMilky Way Cafe - Halo-Halo

Left: Deep Fried Ice Cream from La Petite Camille

Right: Halo-Halo from Milky Way Cafe

I’ve been a full-time resident of Makati, Philippines since 2007 and I’m ashamed to admit that it is only fairly recently that I’m trying out the cafes and restaurants around the city.

La Petite Camille is a Chinese-owned Vietnamese restaurant located at Greenbelt 5.  Restaurants in Makati don’t last very long.  I’m hoping this one does.  The Vietnamese coffee is as good as the cups served in its land of origin.  I doubt that the Deep Fried Ice Cream is an authentic Vietnamese dessert.  However, I’m glad it’s on the menu.

Milky Way Cafe, on the other hand, dates as far back as the 1960s.  At least, its bevy of Filipino recipes do.  The actual cafe opened its doors along Arnaiz Avenue in 2002.  It boasts of the rarest gem (at least for me) in Makati: the ultimate Filipino dessert, Halo-Halo.  Unlike most Halo-Halo typical of Pinoy restaurants, Milky Way’s version has less and smoother crushed ice which blends perfectly with the dessert’s ingredients.  This is so addicting that I’ve been having it every Friday for two weeks now.

Favorite Show on Earth

???????????????????????????????

I have yet to find a friend (or stranger) who loves Boardwalk Empire as much as I do.  I’m partial to HBO since Sex and the City debuted in 1998.  I’ve been following some of the shows, albeit the DVD release, like Six Feet Under, Entourage, and The Sopranos.  Obviously, I’m far behind but mind you, I don’t really enjoy watching TV.  I’m more inclined to patronize films.

If I were to live in a decade of my own choosing, it would have to be the 1920s.  I’m convinced that my soul belongs to the era of cloche hats, American gangsters, the Jazz Age, and Prohibition.

Anyway, my favorite character in Boardwalk Empire, was axed by the producers killed off on the second season: Jimmy Darmody (played by Michael Pitt).  Why bastards like Lucky Luciano and Mickey Doyle outlive him is beyond me.  Still, his death doesn’t prevent me from religiously indulging myself with the series.

Favorite WTF Moment

???????????????????????????????

I couldn’t resist taking a photo of this clothing line showcased at the premiere local department store in the Philippines.  Only because the lack of creativity in terms of its brand name is, I’m sorry, laughable.  One of my biggest pet peeves is movie piracy.  This comes in close second.

“Imitation is the sincerest [form] of flattery” goes the proverbial expression first heard in the 18th century.  I beg to disagree.

Leave a Reply

